Skip to content

Maundy Thursday and Beyond

April 9, 2009

Just put an odd ‘status update’ on my facebook page. “Just had dinner with Jesus. Now all we have to do is kill him and we will be all set for the weekend.” I will probably change it when I am done here. In some ways, this is the thinking of someone who is checking off his ‘Holy Week services to do list’. In some ways I may be talking to all those who see my facebook who think of church as a stuffy place with no humor.

ANYWAY.

Here is what I want to say about Maundy Thursday. We (Christians that I know -it may be that some see things more clearly) tend to focus on this day as the beginning of a sacrament, the betrayal by Judas, and the gathering of shadows leading to his death. Ah, what a wonder it would be if we spent time on the passover celebration as the occasion and the raw material for this night. But that would take longer than I have before my sinus clogged head stops working all together.

No, today I am thinking about the Maundy part of this Thursday. A Maundy that is so big that it is good for more than this one day. In fact it might be big enough for everyday life.

Have I made you want to know what a Maundy is yet? “Maundy” comes from the Latin for “Commandment”. This day takes its name from John 13:34 and 35. “I give you a new commandment, that you love one another. Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” This Holy Day is named for a commandment to love. Today is Maundy Thursday. On this day we are commanded to love by Jesus as one of the last things he does.

Now don’t get me wrong. He also tells us to “Do this in Remembrance of Me” as he sends us on a path that will remind and nourish us on our journeys of faith. I like communion. A lot, actually. I do not want to undervalue the institution of the last supper or any other part of the story for this night. They are all great. I just want to say here that the Maundy seems a little under value. With all the rules that some Christians like to throw at people this one seems to be lost. And yet this Holy Day takes its name, not from the institution of a sacrament, but from Jesus saying that everyone will know that we follow him by the love we have for one another and commanding us to love with the sort of sacrificial love with which he loves us.

Wow.

And it should be noted that this commandment comes right after Judas betrays him. This is not love. We are given this commandment right before Peter says that he will follow Jesus even into death. And Jesus tells him that not only will he not die for him but will deny knowing him to avoid dying. This is not the love that Jesus shows us. With actions that betray him and words that sound good but are hollow as the frame for a new commandment, Jesus tells us to love.

For fun, read the next several chapters of John’s description of this night. It is filled with love: expressions, encouragement, and directions. And of course tomorrow is going to be about love too. But I guess that can be another blog.

Well, I need to go change that facebook status. It does not seem to be sufficiently loving. And my sinuses are killing me.

No comments yet

Leave a comment