Skip to content

Equal Rights in Marriage!

March 29, 2009

I am for equal right for gays, lesbian, bisexuals, and transgender people. Have been since I was in Seminary and read the story of Sodom and Gomorrah.  I discovered that just in reading it, no study needed, it does not talk about homosexuality.  At that point I realized that people had been saying stuff about scripture that was not true and using that ‘stuff’ to say ‘stuff’ about people (GLBTQ etc) that is not true.  Read it for yourself in Genesis 19.  It says nothing about sexuality, let alone homosexuality.  It does talk about the way we should treat people and speaks against violence.  And so I think it is a great bit of scripture to have used in this debate because opponants seek to degrade the humanity of same sex couples, just like the mobs in this story do to the visitors.

This was at a rally put on by the Vt Freedom to Marry Taskforce.  I have been on the clergy support list for a while.  And when they needed a rain site, I was glad to invite them in to Bethany.  We expected 30-40 and had 80+.

THANK GOD the people here realized that I was teasing when I said that the word ‘marriage’ was good enough for homoseuals and most heterosexuals.  I really was trying to make the point that the word “marriage” has a tawdry history but is still a word of respect for two people who love and commit themselves to each other.  Clearly the reason we want that word for same sex couples is because we feel they deserve the respect and respectability the word brings.  Some do not respect them and do not want them to have the respectability.  They see gays and lesbians as not worth it or worthy of it, ie. less human than heterosexuals.  This is crap.

And yes, I stole the phrase “vile bile” from myself in this mornings sermon.  But that is what some opponants spew.  They make me want to spew.  And so I lifted up the bits of scripture I love and listen to.  Just so you can read them for yourself, here are the ones I referenced:

  1. Micah 6:8
  2. Matthew 7:12, Luke 6:31
  3. Matthew 22:36-40 Mark 12:28-34  Luke 10:25 and what follows as someone tries to limit who their neighbor is.   For some real fun, check out what it says about the greatest commandment in James 2:8-9 and what follows.
  4. Romans 2:1 is wonderfully powerful if you start reading in chapter one at verse 19.  This contains a verse opponents like to quote, but notice that verse 19 and 20 says the issue is idolatry and the results of this include haughtiness and rebellion towards parents.  The line opponents pick out is about worshiping the fertility gods/cults as a result of liking false gods.  But in 2:1 ff //Paul says that any who judge them are guilty of the same sin, having a false god!  Really.  Read it.
  5. Galatians 3:26-29  I include this one because my ‘students’ in Saturday’s VAST class mentioned it in their letters to Gov. Douglas about how there faith leads them to their position on this issue.  Yea Class!

There are more.  I meant to say that I knew that Sodom and Gomorrah has nothing to do with homosexuality.  But there are more reasons in scripture to support this.  But I did not want to go on and on.  Plus…  these are the ones that I really know and look to for my own guidance.

Anyway, here is what I said.  My thanks to Todd Farnsworth for suggesting that I record it.  Scroll down to Equal Rights Rally

No comments yet

Leave a comment